Thompson Rivers University

TRU Gaglardi faculty and staff honoured

May 30, 2024

Earlier this month, the Bob Gaglardi School of Business and Economics honoured the hard work and dedication of faculty and staff with the annual Faculty Council and Dean’s Awards for excellence in service, teaching, research and staff contributions. Here are this year’s recipients:

  • Faculty Council Excellence in Research – Dr. Alex Ng
  • Faculty Council Excellence in Service – Amy Tucker
  • Faculty Council Excellence in Teaching and Learning – Dr. Yong Joo Kang
  • Dean’s Award for Research – Dr. Matti Haverila
  • Dean’s Award for Service – Dr. Li Zhang
  • Dean’s Award for Teaching and Learning – Dr. Tolulope Oluwafemi
  • Staff Award  – Michelle Rutsatz

Through the efforts of faculty and staff, TRU Gaglardi continues to advance its mission to connect the BC Interior to the world through experiential education and high-quality research.

“Being selected to receive the 2023-2024 Faculty Council Excellence in Teaching Award is a great honour, especially with all the great teachers we have at TRU Gaglardi. Engaging with students at all levels of their academic journey, both inside and outside the classroom, has been a key reason behind why I love being a professor,” says Dr. Yong Joo Kang, assistant professor in the accounting, finance and law department.

“Winning the Faculty Council Excellence in Service Award has humbled me and reinforced my commitment to fostering an inclusive and supportive learning environment. It inspires me to continue advocating for equitable access to education and to push for innovative practices that enhance our students’ academic success,” says Amy Tucker, university instructor in the human enterprise and innovation department.

Awards were presented by Dean Dr. Mike Henry and Faculty Council Committee Chair Dr. Hasnat Dewan during the school’s faculty luncheon on Thursday, May 16.

Related Posts