Thompson Rivers University

Dean, Faculty of Arts

March 13, 2018

The campus is getting a new address and all the building as well. Pictured is the Arts and Education building.

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Richard (Rick) McCutcheon as Dean of the Faculty of Arts at Thompson Rivers University.

Rick comes to TRU from Algoma University (AU) in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, where he has been Academic Dean since 2014, serving as chief academic officer fulfilling most of the Vice-President Academic’s duties as well. Rick also holds the position of Associate Professor of law and politics. Prior to that, he was Dean of Menno Simons College at the University of Winnipeg, where he was also an Associate Professor of conflict resolution studies and international development studies.

As Dean at AU, Rick played a key role in bringing people and institutions together to enhance student mobility across northern Ontario institutions in his work with the Ontario Council on Articulation and Transfer. He was also a catalyst for an initiative at the Ontario Council of Academic Vice-Presidents to address Indigenous education priorities flowing from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Rick brings substantial training and experience with facilitation, relationship-building, and conflict-resolution practices to his work at TRU.

His credentials include a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in religious studies and sociology from Brandon University, a Master of Arts in religious studies and a PhD in anthropology both from McMaster University. His research interests include topics such as post-colonial theory, the anthropology of conflict, peace theory and practice, inter-religious dialogue, and non-violent social change.

On behalf of the university, I take this opportunity to thank the members of the search committee, including Christine Bovis-Cnossen (Chair), Bruce Baugh, Mike Bluhm, Tom Dickinson, Jacqueline Kampman, Yvette Laflamme, Mike Looney, Hanna Martens, Mike McKeen, Chris Montoya, Monica Sanchez-Flores, Brenda Thomson, and Mark Wallin for their insight and diligence. I also wish to extend my sincere appreciation to Dr. Sandra Vermeulen for her contributions as interim Dean since February 2017.

We wish Rick every success as he begins his five-year term on July 1, 2018.


Alan Shaver
President and Vice-Chancellor