Thompson Rivers University

Donors inducted to TRU President’s Circle

  Posted on: September 13, 2022

Thirty-one donors have been newly inducted to the Thompson Rivers University (TRU) President’s Circle. The President’s Circle recognizes extraordinary contributions to the university — specifically, cumulative financial donations of $100,000 and above.

The new members, inducted on Mon., Sept. 12, are as follows:

  • Andrew Sheret Ltd.
  • Estate of James Bain
  • Spencer and Janet Bryson
  • Buck Lake Ranch
  • Cantex
  • CLAC
  • The Court of Appeal for British Columbia and The Supreme Court of British Columbia
  • Darlene Freding
  • Bob Gaglardi Family
  • Brian and Muriel Garland
  • The Honourable Hope Hyslop
  • George and Gwyneth Lamperson*
  • Madame Justice Sharon Matthews and Robert McDiarmid
  • Kamloops Aberdeen Lions Club
  • Kamloops Bar Association
  • Kamloops Honda
  • New Gold – New Afton Mine
  • Dr. Lloyd* and Rae Nixon
  • Peak Pulmonary Consulting Inc.
  • Patricia Petley
  • Frank and Cathy Quinn
  • Raymond James
  • Rotary Club of Kamloops Daybreak
  • Patricia and Wolfram* Sellmer
  • The Sisters of Saint Anne
  • David and Leslie Taylor
  • TRU Alumni
  • TRU Faculty Association
  • TRU Students’ Union
  • Nels Vollo
  • Wells Gray Community Forest Corporation

* Recognized posthumously

In addition, the Estate of Alvin and Lydia Grunert was recognized retroactively.

Total donations from newly inducted donors represent over $17 million, while total donations from all 95 President’s Circle members represent over $58 million. Donations to TRU support student scholarships and bursaries, capital projects and research.

“At TRU, we are fortunate to have so many remarkable donors like those in the President’s Circle, which represents our highest level of giving,” said TRU President and Vice-Chancellor Brett Fairbairn. “They give in a myriad of ways, but no matter how each contributes, they provide students with an opportunity for a life-changing post-secondary education.”

TRU began the President’s Circle in 2010. It was formed to recognize donors’ lifelong contributions to TRU in a more intimate way and to encourage them to maintain a long-term close affiliation with the university.